Australian Travel & Tourism Network TravlBud - the best travel deals are in the bag
Top Australian holiday vacation destinations Tourist information for Australian Travellers Australian accommodation and hotels Car Rental, camper hire and motorhome rentals in Australia Australian discounted Airfares Activities and tours adventures for Australia Travel insurance deals for Australia Road maps and highways of Australia Australian Travel Classifieds Australian Travel Blogs and Articles about travel in Australia Last minute travel deals for Australia
Murray River SA The best travel deals are in the bag

Murray River Holiday Attractions
South Australia

MONARTO ZOOLOGICAL PARK

Telephone (08) 8552 3677
Located 10 minutes outside Murray Bridge, with groups of blackbuck, deer, zebra, giraffe and other large herbivorous species roaming freely across 1,000 hectares of undulating grasslands and mallee forest. The landscape and climate at Monarto provide the ideal habitat for many grassland dwelling species. The entire area has been enclosed by a 2.5 metre high electrified quarantine fence which keeps the Park's animals safe and provides a sanctuary for re-establishing native animals and plant life. Tours of the park aboard safari buses are conducted by trained volunteer guides or Monarto Zoological Park staff.

COTTAGE BOX CHOCLATES

Telephone (08) 8532 5055
Tours of this confectionary factory reveal 39 unique and mouthwatering products. Visitors can sample, buy and watch the production process.

THE CAPTAIN'S COTTAGE MUSEUM

Telephone (08) 8531 0049
This 1890s cottage built for Captain Johnson has been restored to original condition and features various relics and photographs of those pioneering days

PINNAROO HISTORICAL MUSEUMS

Telephone (08) 8577 8002
This collection of museums captures the heritage ol Pinnaroo. The old railway station houses displays of historical items and photographs on the town. A farm machinery museum with a range of farm machinery and implements can be found at the showgrounds. The Printing museum at the Soldiers Memorial Park features an historic telephone switchboard. One of the world's finest cereal collections of over 1,300 varieties. the D. A. Wurfel Cereal Collection, is on display at the Pinnaroo Institute .

YOOKAMURRA SANCTUARY

At sunset over the river, visitors can discover rare wildlife in one of the last remaining ungrazed areas of pristine mallee country. The guided walk through a forest introduces you to the flowers plants, birds and little-seen animals of this region. Bookings for guided walks are necessary.

OLD TAILEM BEND

PIONEER VILLAGE
Telephone (08) 8572 3838
Fifty preserved and restored buildings recreate life from the pioneer days of South Australia. The original Lillimour South School is popular as are the cottages. Pioneer church, general store, railway and Police stations. Don't forget to look into the 'lock up'.

POLTALLOCH HOMESTEAD

Telephone (08) 8574 0043
This sheep and cattle station was built in 1876 by John Bowman and is now owned by fifth generation descendants who share this special settlement with visitors and overnight guests. The beautiful setting overlooking Lake Alexandrina is matched by the homestead itself. Tours of the property can be arranged.

WELLINGTON COURTHOUSE

Telephone (08) 8572 7330
This complex comprises an 1864 courtroom police station, cells, stable, post and telegraph office and Aboriginal storeroom. A fine example of colonial architecture and a reminder of a very different way of life. The complex should be explored at a leisurely pace.

ARTEFACTS MUSEUM

Telephone (08) 8735 8029
The Artefacts Museum is one of the largest in Australia, and features a collection relating to the South East's Aboriginal heritage.

LAKE GEORGE

Telephone (08) 8735 8013
The natural habitat of large numbers of black swans and a variety of bird life, Lake George is also a popular spot for windsurfing, swimming and boating.
Conventional vehicles can travel as far as the 'five mile drift', while four wheel drive vehicles or people on foot can follow the marked tracks through the sand dunes, viewing the coastal vegetation and shell middens left by the Aboriginals who once inhabited the area.

NATURE WALKS

A number of nature walks provide visitors with scenic views of Beachport. Wendy's Walk meanders through bushland, sand dunes and eventually onto the beaches of the Southern Ocean. Wooley's Walk, at the entrance to the Beachport Conservation Park, takes you around the picturesque lake and provides the opportunity of observing a diversity of habitats. Lanky's Walk guides you through native bushland.

OLD WOOL AND GRAIN STORE

This is a National Trust Museum, with an extensive collection of local relies from Beachport's whaling heritage. There are also rooms furnished in the 1870s period. The Water Board has a permanent display 'Down The Drain'.

POOL OF SILOAM

This salt lake is reputed to have seven times the salt content of the ocean and is supposed to have therapeutic qualities. The high salt content makes swimming very easy.

VICTORIANA MUSEUM

Telephone (08) 8735 8064
The two collections on view are a Victoriana exhibition and a display on militaria, including guns, grenades, helmets and swords. There is also a major collection of items used in World War II by the Third Reich's Luftwaffe.

WOAKWINE CUTTING

On the Coastal Ports Highway about 10 kilometres north of Beachport lies a testament to the triumph of man over nature - the Woakwine Cutting, This extraordinary drainage project opened up a large area of swampland to farming. An observation platform gives visitors a bird's eye view of the cutting.

CLAYTON FARM HISTORIC SITE AND AGRICULTURAL MUSEUM

Telephone (08) 8752 2548
Three kilometres south of Bordertown this complex of buildings is a fine example of colonial rural construction. The buildings date from the late I9th century and are made from a variety of local materials, including brush, native pine swamp grass and limestone. Much of the farm machinery remains.

THE HON. RL HAWKE'S FAMILY HOME

Telephone (08) 8752 1044
Former Prime Minister Bob Hawke was born in Bordertown. His childhood home has recently been renovated and is now occupied by the Tatiara Employment Services; visitors are welcome. Photographs and newspaper cartoons of Bob Hawke are on display.

KEITH CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH

Telephone (08) 8755 1125
Standing proud in Heritage Street is the former Congregational Church. Built of local stone in 1910 it is now owned by the Keith branch of the National Trust. Four leadlight windows, made by local artists depict the work of the district's pioneers.

OLD MANSE

Telephone (08) 8755 1125
This is a small museum containing photographs and archives depicting Keith's early history.

ANALEMMATIC SUNDIAL

In Apex Park, this sundial features a range of granite-carved fish which make up the clock. The centre piece is a sundial and the time can be established by standing on the analemma and the shadow so cast tells the time.

BIG LOBSTER

Telephone (08) 8767 2555
Seventeen-metre high Lany the Lobster contains displays of the district's products - timber, dairy products, wine and rock lobster.

CAPEJAFFA LIGHTHOUSE

Telephone (08) 8767 2591
This lighthouse began life on Margaret Brock Reef in the 1860s and stayed there for a century. In the 1970s an automatic light rendered it redundant and it was dismantled and re-erected at Kingston. The National Trust manages the lighthouse.

MILLICENT NATIONAL TRUST MUSEUM AND ADMEUA GALLERY

Telephone (08) 8733 3205
This has the reputation of being one of the best regional museums in the state. Its displays are strongly thematic. The complex evolved around the site and buildings of the old primary school (1873) where the Millicent, Victoriana, Aboriginal and Natural History Rooms are located. Sixteen restored horse drawn vehicles are featured in the museum, along with fully restored farm implements, tools and machinery. The Admella Gallery displays a great collection of Australian craft work.

MILLICENT SHELL GARDEN

Telephone (08) 8733 2072
This extensive mural work of glass, old china and shells took thirty nine years to complete. Children delight in walking among the many nursery rhyme characters dotted among the flower beds. A wall shows a map of the Australian states and the Waltzing Matilda story. A modern touch is the tribute to Australia's great win in the 1983 America's Cup.

THE BLUE LAKE

Telephone (08) 8724 1711
This is Mount Gambler's star attraction. It occupies one of the extinct craters after which the city was named. Every November the waters change from a dull. grey to deep blue and remain so for several months.The circumference of the lake is over three kilometres and the surrounding cliffs rise to seventy six metres, forming a limestone bowl. The lake is the city's source of water. There are many lookouts which offer panoramic views of the lake and surrounds. Tours of the pumping station are available.

THE CAVE GARDENS

Telephone (08) 8724 1711
This is an open cave, illuminated at night and renowned for its rose gardens.

THE CRATER LAKES

The volcanic district around Mount Gambler has numerous lakes, views and lookouts. Among them are Browne's Lake, Valley Lake, Leg of Mutton Lake and the Blue Lakes. There are many good lookouts, the best being the Centenary Tower opened in 1904 and is equipped with a powerful telescope for viewing the district.

ENGELBRECHT CAVE

Telephone: (08) 8724 1730
This cave lies within the city's limits and extends under seven streets. It's a good example of the water filled caves common to the area and was formed thirty to forty million years ago.

THE LADY NELSON TOURIST INTERPRETIVE CENTRE

Telephone 008 087 187
This complex is built around a full scale replica of the 'Lady Nelson,' the ship captained by Lieutenant Grant who first sighted the land around Mount Gambler The centre provides an insight into the people, industries and history of the region.

MOUNT GAMBIER COOPERATIVE DAIRY PRODUCTS

Telephone (08) 8725 6744
A modern and well-equipped cheese factory where you can see cheese being made from a viewing gallery, watch an audio-visual production or take part in a cheese tasting.

TARPEENA FAIRY TALE PARK

Telephone (08) 8739 6363
Approximately twenty five kilometres north of Mount Gambler is Tarpeena Fairytale Park. Many of the thirty five fairytale settings are depicted in wood and stone cottages, castles and caves. Lilliput land, hand-carved from stone and cement, reflects the detail and continuity which is the park's trademark.

TIMBER MILL TOURS

Telephone (08) 8739 6363
Both Woods and Forests and CSR Softwoods conduct tours which show all the processes of timber treatment. On a visit to one of the huge timber mills, you'll see how the pinus radiata from the surrounding district is used.

UMPHERSTON CAVE

Telephone (08) 8724 1730
This is an open cave with terraced gardens and barbecue areas. It is also an ideal spot for a picnic and has been popular since Mount Gambier's, early days when it contained a small lake.

NARACOORTE MUSEUM

Telephone (08) 8762 209
This privately owned museum has one hundred collections, including a fine display of antiques, gemstones, butterflies, and many other items. Its collection of fossil shells and bones from local limestone quarries and caves are a great feature. Local species of venomous snakes can also be viewed in safety.

THE SHEEP'S BACK WOOL MUSEUM

Telephone (08) 8762 1127
This museum depicts the history of the wool industry in a series of excellent displays and interpretive information. An historic flour mill (1860) is its home, and displays incorporate life-size models, photographs, artefacts and audio- visual presentations. It is a great reminder of the days when Australia rode on the sheep's back.

THE TINY TRAIN PARK

Telephone (08) 8762 1327
This park is for children. The miniature electric train pulls five carriages on which children sit. The park also contains an extensive and safe playground for children and an eighteen-hole mini golf course.

JOHN RIDDOCH DISTRICT INTERPRETIVE CENTRE

Telephone (08) 8737 2855
In the former mechanics Institute and Library building, this centre tells the fascinating history of the Penola district. The centre includes an audio-visual display, poetry recitals of the works of Adam Lindsay Gordon and John Shaw Neilson which enables visitors to appreciate the characters from Penola's past.

PENOLA HERITAGE WALK

Telephone (08) 8737 2855
Departing from the Tourist Information Centre, the Penola Heritage Walk visits more than twenty seven heritage sites around Penola. Information on the significance of the buildings is provided on boards. The buildings include the Penola Rectory, restored in 1991 the National Trust, and McAdam Slab Hut, one of the first houses built in the area in the 1880s.

PEITICOAT LANE

The National Trust of South Australia has restored a number of heritage buildings in this, the oldest section of Penola. Petticoat Lane has been re-constructed with red gum guttering and landscaping to complement the old cottages. These buildings now house a range of shops and galleries selling local crafts, hand-made wood products and local art work.

WOODS/MACKILLOP SCHOOL HOUSE

Telephone (08) 8737 2248
In Penola in 1866 Saint Mary MacKillop established the first school in Australia that catered for all children irrespective of their income or social class. The dedicated Woods/MacKillop Schoolhouse Committee has spent many hours collecting memorabilia from both Mother Mary and Father Woods. There treasured articles are on display at the Schoolhouse.

YALLUM PARK

Telephone (08) 8737 2435
This two storey, twenty-two roomed building, once the home of local pioneer John Riddoch, is considered to be one of the best preserved Victorian houses in Australia. Its outstanding features include the original gold leaf wallpaper, eleven Italian marble mantlepieces and the original gasoliers. Austin cottage at the rear of the homestead dates to 1840.

FISH FARM

Telephone (08) 8738 5288
Recently opened at Mt. Schank, the Fish Farm provides facilities, allowing you to see the hatcheries and buy fresh fish, including trout and yabbies.

MARITIME MUSEUM

Telephone (08) 8738 7259
In the former District Council Offices, this museum has a collection of artefacts taken from the wrecks of the more than twenty five ships that sank off Port MacDonnell between 1844 and 1347.

MOUNT SCHANK WALK

Mount Schank, an extinct volcano, is north of Port MacDonnell on the road to Mount Gambler A walking track has been built on the outside of the crater and also in its interior to allow visitors to fully explore this fascinating geological phenomenon. From the top, there are spectacular views of the country.

HISTORICAL INTERPRETIVE CENTRE

Telephone (08) 8768 2465
This centre presents an interpretation of the history of the port of Robe and environs over the last 140 years.

NARRABURRA WOOLSHED

Telephone (08) 8768 2083 / 8768 2190
This is a working woolshed fourteen kilometres from Robe. See sheep dogs working the sheep, shearing displays, wool sorting and baling. Short walking trails have been prepared into the surrounding bushland where you can spot native birds and animals; there are also good views of Lake Eliza nearby.

NORA CREINA

This is a picturesque fishing spot south of Robe.

ROBE CUSTOMS HOUSE

Telephone (08) 8768 2419
This building, dating from 1863, contains an excellent collection of nautical items and artefacts depicting Robe's history.

For more travel information on Murray River in NSW

SA Service Index
SA Weather
hotels and accommodation services in South Australia australia
for car rentals, motorhomes, campervans and budget auto rentals in Sydney and South Australia
for tours of South Australia australia
South Australian Region Map
Murray River Information
australian accommodation and hotel guide
return Home Tourist Information Accommodation Car Rentals Airfares Things to Do Travel Insurance Last Minute Road Maps TravelBlogs
Contact Us
This website developed and maintained by Australian Travel & Tourism Network Pty Limited for Australian Travel Service providers © last updated 11-Oct-2011